University Advisory Committee

The University Advisory Committee (UAC) advises the Oversight Committee about the role of higher education in cancer research. The members of the UAC include representatives as specified in state law.


Peter Davies, M.D., Ph.D., Chair
Director, Texas A&M Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Professor, Center for Translational Cancer Research
Texas A&M Health Science Center

Carlos L. Arteaga, M.D., Vice-Chair
Director of the Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center
Associate Dean of Oncology Programs
The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Abbey B. Berenson, M.D., MMS, Ph.D.
Professor, Departments of Obstetrics/Gynecology and Pediatrics
Director, UTMB Center for Interdisciplinary Research in Women’s Health
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Michael Blanda, Ph.D.
Interim Chief Research Officer
Professor of Chemistry
Director, Freeman Center
Director, Xiphophorus Genetic Stock Center
Texas State University

Subhash C. Chauhan, Ph.D.
Professor and Chairman, Department of Immunology and Microbiology
Director, South Texas Centre of Excellence in Cancer Research
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Giulio F. Draetta, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief Scientific Officer
Chair, Department of Genomic Medicine, Division of Cancer Medicine
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Joseph “Joe” Heppert, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
Texas Tech University

Ruben A. Mesa, M.D., FACP
Director, Mays Cancer Center (An Affiliation UT Health San Antonio/ MD Anderson Cancer Center)
Mays Family Foundation Distinguished University Presidential Chair
Professor of Medicine
The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Claudia Neuhauser, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President/Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Technology Transfer
HHMI Professor, Mathematics
Division of Research
University of Houston/University of Houston System

Marcia O'Malley, Ph.D.
Thomas Michael Panos Family Professor in Mechanical Engineering
Associate Dean for Research and Innovation
George R. Brown School of Engineering
Rice University

C. Kent Osborne, M.D.
Tina and Dudley Sharp Chair in Oncology
Founding Director, Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center
Professor of Medicine and Molecular and Cellular Biology
Baylor College of Medicine

John Louis Wood, Ph.D.
Robert A. Welch Distinguished Professor and Cancer Prevention Research Institute Scholar
Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Baylor University